Call Now
1800 102 5277

Delhi University (DU)

Updated on: Jun 24, 2015 , Author:

University of Delhi (DU)With around 70 colleges under its umbrella, the University of Delhi, widely popular as DU or Delhi University, is one of the most prestigious universities in the country today. The varsity is known for its high standards in teaching and research. The Delhi University has been ranked one of the best universities in the world.

The Delhi University was established in the year 1922, with just three colleges under its umbrella namely St.Stephen's College (founded in 1881), Hindu College (founded in 1899) and Ramjas College (founded in 1917).


Apply online to Delhi University 2015 here

DU Admission Schedule 2015 -16



Latest News Coverage


Delhi University
 will soon make the admission forms available for academic session 2015. The aspirants can start applying for admission to Delhi University from 28 May to 15 June, 2015.

Sir Maurice Gwyer, who was the Vice Chancellor of the University, realizing the immense importance of a distinguished faculty, searched for talent all over the country and brought men of eminence to this University, such as Prof. D S Kothari in Physics, Prof. T R Sheshadri in Chemistry, Prof. P Maheshwari in Botany and Prof. M L Bhatia in Zoology. During the last over seven decades the University has grown into one of the largest universities in India.

The University of Delhi offers a colossal 447 different courses in fields like Commerce, Sciences, Arts, International Languages, Engineering, Medical, Law, Economics and Computers etc at the undergraduate, postgraduate, M.Phil, Ph.D., diploma and certificate levels.

At present, there are 13 faculties, 76 departments and 8 centres of learning operating in the University. 

The colleges affiliated with DU are spread all over the city divided under the north, south, east, west and central regions.

The nucleus of the Delhi University is its North Campus which is home to colleges like the Shri Ram College of Commerce (SRCC), St. Stephen's College, Hindu College and several other reputed colleges. The other campus of Delhi University is situated in South Delhi, popularly known as South Campus.

DU is striving to develop its east and west campuses. The east campus is being developed with the University College of Medical Sciences as its nucleus and the west campus will focus on Engineering & Technology courses.

The University of Delhi (DU) will commence the admission process from 28 May, 2015 for its UG for the academic year 2015-16 that will commence by July. Get the complete download of dates, deadlines on DU's Admission Schedule 2015 page.

All about DU's Four Year Under-Graduate Programme (FYUP) from 2013

Delhi University introduced its much debated four-year graduate programme (FYUP) from the academic year of 2013 - 2014. Modelled on the American undergraduate system, the programme introduces a four-year undergraduate course based on semesters. Click here to know all about this newly introduced pattern.

The controversial 4 yr structure was withdrawn within an year of its introduction. DU went back to its 3 year structure from 2014-2015 academic session.



Subscribe to our newsletter